Greater Columbia

Local Health Improvement Networks

Local Health Improvement Networks in GCACH

Local Health Improvement Networks (LHIN)

Did you know that studies show only 10 to 20 percent of a person's health is related to medical care? That's right! The rest is attributed to non-medical, social determinant factors including economic stability, education, housing, food security, transportation, and more. This is why Greater Columbia Accountable Community of Health (GCACH) works with seven Local Health Improvement Networks (LHINs) to support initiatives delivering on these needs across the region. 

Each LHIN is a formalized group of individuals who coordinate and collaborate on activities to address the health issues and disparities in their respective communities. Once the most critical SDOH are determined for that area, GCACH provides funding support to philanthropy organizations to align services that will address those areas of need. 

Below is a list of the Local Health Improvement Networks, philanthropy organizations, and Social Determinants of Health that are being addressed in the Greater Columbia region in 2021. Contact information is provided for organizations who are seeking funding opportunities. 

Thank you to our partners for your hard work and dedication! If you have any questions, please contact GCACH Community and Tribal Engagement Specialist, Brissa Perez (bperez@gcach.org). 

Benton-Franklin Community Health Alliance

Benton and Franklin Counties

LHIN Information
Benton Franklin Community Health Alliance (BFCHA)
Kirk Williamson (kfw@bfcha.org) 
BFCHA Website

Social Determinants of Health
Access to Care | Nutrition / Food Insecurity | Behavioral Health | Housing

Philanthropy Organization
3 Rivers Community Foundation (3RCF)
Abbey Cameron (abbey@3rcf.org)
3RCF Website

Blue Mountain Region Community Health Partnership

Walla Walla and Columbia Counties

LHIN Information
Blue Mountain Regional Community Health Partnership (BMRCHP)
Amy Osterman (aosterman@co.walla-walla.wa.us) 
BMRCHP Website

Social Determinants of Health
Behavioral Health | Housing | Education

Philanthropy Organization
Blue Mountain Community Foundation (BMCF)
Greer Buchanan (greer@bluemountainfoundation.org)
BMCF Website

Kittitas County Health Network

Kittitas County

LHIN Information
Kittitas County Health Network (KCHN)
Robin Read (robin@healthierkittitas.org) 
KCHN Website

Social Determinants of Health
Food / Nutrition | Housing | Social Isolation | Behavioral Health

Philanthropy Organization
Yakima Valley Community Foundation (YVCF)
Lindsay Boswell (lindsayb@yakimavalleycf.org)
YVCF Website

Southeast Washington Alliance for Health

Garfield and Asotin Counties

LHIN Information
Southeast Washington Alliance for Health (SEWAH)
Jac Davies (jacjdavies@comcast.net) & Martha Lanman (martha_lanman@co.columbia.wa.us) 
SEWAH Website

Social Determinants of Health
Overweight Youth | Youth Immunizations | Substance Abuse | Bullying | Access to Care

Philanthropy Organization
Blue Mountain Community Foundation (BMCF)
Greer Buchanan (greer@bluemountainfoundation.org)
BMCF Website

Whitman County Health Network

Whitman County

LHIN Information
Whitman County Health Network (WCHN)
Elizabeth Hillman (elizabeth.hillman@pullmanregional.org) 
No Website

Social Determinants of Health
Family Issues | Transportation

Philanthropy Organization
Pullman Regional Hospital Foundation (PRHF)
Becky Highfill (Becky.highfill@pullmanregional.org)
PRHF Website

Yakima County Health Care Coalition

Yakima County

LHIN Information
Yakima County Health Care Coalition (YCHCC)
Rhonda Hauff (rhonda.hauff@ynhs.org) & Dan Ferguson (dferguson@yvcc.edu)
No Website

Social Determinants of Health
Housing Insecurity | Employment | Education | Transportation | Emotional & Mental Health | Legal Issues

Philanthropy Organization
Yakima Valley Community Foundation (YVCF)
Lindsay Boswell (lindsayb@yakimavalleycf.org)
YVCF Website

Yakama Nation

Yakama Indian Reservation

LHIN Information
Yakama Nation
Arlen Washines (arlen_washines@yakama.com)
Yakama Nation Website

Currently no events scheduled.